2019-20 Honored Artist of the American Prize

Oliver Caplan, Composer

Award-winning American composer Oliver Caplan writes melodies that nourish our souls, offering a voice of hope in an uncertain world. Inspired by the resiliency of the human spirit and beauty of the natural world, his music celebrates stories of social justice, conservation and community.

Mr. Caplan’s works have been performed in over 175 performances nationwide. He has been commissioned by the Atlanta Chamber Players, Bella Piano Trio, Bronx Arts Ensemble, Brookline Symphony Orchestra, Columbia University Wind Ensemble and New Hampshire Master Chorale, among others. Winner of a Special Citation for the American Prize in Orchestral Composition, additional recognitions include two Veridian Symphony Competition Wins, the Fifth House Ensemble Competition Grand Prize, eight ASCAP Awards, and fellowships at Ragdale, VCCA and the Brush Creek Foundation. Recordings of Mr. Caplan’s music include his 2017 release You Are Not Alone, which has been featured on Apple Music’s Classical A-list and streamed over 200,000 times; 2012 debut album Illuminations; and tracks on Trio Siciliano’s Exploring Music (2018, U07 Records) and the Sinfonietta of Riverdale’s New World Serenade (2016, Albany Records).

A leader in the field of contemporary classical music, Mr. Caplan is the Artistic Director of Juventas New Music Ensemble, the only professional ensemble of its kind devoted specifically to the music of emerging composers. During the first two years of his tenure, the ensemble’s audience has grown six-fold. Mr. Caplan holds degrees from Dartmouth College and the Boston Conservatory, is a voting member of the Recording Academy, and resides in Medford, Massachusetts.


  • 11:11 Theatre Company
  • Atlanta Chamber Players
  • B3LLA Piano Trio
  • Bronx Arts Ensemble
  • Brookline Symphony Orchestra
  • Chagall Performance Art Collaborative
  • Chinese Symphonic Masterpieces at Harvard
  • Columbia University Wind Ensemble
  • Dartmouth College Wind Ensemble
  • Columbia University Wind Ensemble
  • El Sistema Somerville
  • Firebrand Concert Series
  • Handel Society of Dartmouth College
  • Indiana Wind Symphony
  • Juventas New Music Ensemble
  • Lorelei Ensemble
  • Music at Penn Alps
  • New Hampshire Master Chorale
  • Schola Cantorum of Boston
  • Sinfonietta of Riverdale
  • Washington & Jefferson College Wind Ensemble
  • White Snake Projects

Press Kit